• Drew Wilson

2017 MotoGP - Phillip Island

Well it didn't rain as much as last year but it was still not warm down at the Island again for the 2017 Australian MotoGP.

MotoGP saw seven riders slug it out passing and repassing each other a total of 73 times. Jack Miller had a blinder of a start to lead the first lap before the group behind caught him. The lead group consisted of Marc Márquez, Valentino Rossi, Andrea Iannone, Maverick Vinales, Jorge Lorenzo, Aleix Espargaro and Johann Zarco.

Late is the race Marquez broke away from the group to take the win by 1.8 seconds from the Yamaha due of Valentino Rossi and Maverick Vinales.

Moto2 saw the first win for KTM in the class and also first win for Miguel Oliveira leading home teammate Brad Binder.

Moto3 was a very close race but had to be red flagged on lap 16 due to heavy rain but that meant Joan Mir had done enough as he was leading over the line to claim the Moto3 World Championship.